Lake Lyndon

October 27, 2009

Bravely headed to Lake Lyndon over the long weekend hoping to catch me some trout. No joy though – turns out the Lake is closed until 7 Nov (who knew). Nice drive up there though, a little over an hour from Christchurch, just past Porters Pass. Rather than waste a trip I tied on my “piece of wool” (technical term) and spent a few hours practicing my fly casting into various degrees of the prevailing nor-wester. Judging by the amount of tangles and the number of times I hit myself in the back of the head, the addition of a hook to my outfit is a step not to be taken lightly. And by the way – I saw zero fish!

One Response to “Lake Lyndon”


  1. Just back from Lake Lyndon – same result as the first trip – caught nothing, saw nothing. Got plenty of casting practice and was a nice day there today – relatively still – which made casting easier. Also tried a spinner but no joy.


Leave a Reply

