Smoking

October 30, 2009

No I don’t mean the “gaspers” (do people use that word in NZ?) – I mean meat smoking a la ham, bacon etc. We have a charcoal bbq (yes I know gas is much more convenient but I like making life difficult for myself). Anyhoo – I bought myself a pack of smoke chips (mainly manuka according to the pack) and threw them on the coals, shut the bbq lid – and….. not too bad! I think some experimentation in order but our steaks definitely had something extra about them (in a good way) and no one complained or threw up. So I am going to persevere but if anyone has any tips I would love to hear them – particularly re smoking trout!

Leave a Reply

