Freezing Runners

August 6, 2010

Another fishing adventure to Lake Lyndon a few weeks back – actually might have been a bit longer ago than that – anyhow – it was cold! Pulled in just around dawn and started casting. Pretty soon I started to think i was casting even worse than normal. Checked my line wasn’t looped up somewhere or perhaps missed a runner on my rod – but all seemed ok so pressed on. Still struggling so had a second look – this time I noticed that the water on my line was freezing on the runners causing a lot of extra resistance. I figured at that point it was no time for fishing (needless to say I had experienced a complete lack of bites) and packed up. As I drove off and over Porters Pass the snow really set in and snowed nearly all the way to Darfield.

Leave a Reply

